Button to scroll to the top of the page.


Campus health and safety are our top priorities. Get the latest from UT on COVID-19.

Get help with Zoom and more.

Contact Info

The Center for Computational Biology and Bioinformatics


The University of Texas at Austin
GDC 7th floor
2317 Speedway
Austin, TX 78712

The Center for Computational Biology and Bioinformatics (CCBB) provides research opportunities and support for students, postdoctoral fellows, and faculty interested in the use of computational approaches to solving biological problems. The research interests of the participating faculty, who are drawn from departments across The University of Texas at Austin, involve a broad range of approaches and focus on experimental evolution, molecular evolution and phylogenetics, systems biology, ecological, evolutionary and functional genomics, and neurogenomics, to name just a few. Prospective students interested in research opportunities in computational biology and bioinformatics should contact the appropriate faculty members directly.

Among the resources, maintained by the CCBB is a new Biomedical Research Computing Facility, high performance computing (HPC) clusters, extensive and secure data storage systems, web servers, and a wide array of software packages. The CCBB also supports a Bioinformatics Consulting Group that provides support to UT faculty and students whose projects involve large-scale data sets and complex computational analyses. Training in computational and bioinformatics approaches to biological problems is another part of our mission. We offer and sponsor a variety of training courses and workshops. Finally, the CCBB sponsors seminars of interest to the computational biology community, including an Annual Symposium in Big Data in Biology.

ICMB FACulty Members:

Hans Hofmann (CCBB Director)
Lauren Ancel Meyers
Nigel Atkinson
Chandra Bajaj
Jeffrey E. Barrick
Jim Bull
Z. Jeffrey Chen
Andy Ellington
Richard H. Finnell
Robin Gutell
Christine Hawkes
David M. Hillis
Vishy Iyer
Robert K. Jansen
Tom Juenger
Mark Kirkpatrick
Edward Marcotte
Mia Markey
Misha Matz
Daniel P. Miranker
Nancy Moran
Ulrich Mueller
Howard Ochman
William H. Press
Claus Wilke
Harold Zakon



CCBB side

Bioinformatics Consulting Group

Hans A. Hofmann, Ph.D.
Director, CCBB

Mike Wilson, Ph.D.
Director, GSAF

Dhivya Arasappan, M.S.
Research Associate, CSSB
Benni Goetz, M.S.
Research Engineering/Scientist Associate III

Viswanadham Sridhara, Ph.D.
Research Engineering/Scientist Associate V

James Derry
Senior Systems Administrator, CNS-IT

Eric Ortego
Senior Systems Administrator